Perspective

I ran across this piece this morning and wanted to give it a mention. Some may be offended, some angry, but I really think this is an excellent perspective of our culture.

In the article from gay.com, there is an interview with an openly gay, african american, male who is newly initiated into the fraternity. His words echo all of ours in their devotion to the fraternity and their candor resonate with me as the embodyment of what the fraternity is all about. Note the key word there Fraternity.

Froem the article:

The Masons embrace all cultures, all types of people, and their main goal is to help people and fight against tyranny, and I’m all over that. I want to be a bigger part of the fabric of my community, not just the gay community, and being in the Masons can help me accomplish that. Not that I don’t want to be involved with the gay community — I want that as well. I hope to accomplish getting more community work done, and do that with other people who share that same mission.

Which are the reasons of every man who becomes a mason.

~ by Greg on January 6, 2007.

2 Responses to “Perspective”

  1. Daily Survival Kit for Freemasons
    by Dennis A. Coltart, P.M.

    Today, I will contemplate my presence here on earth and that my Creator has a purpose for my existence which may or may not always be clear to me, but will live by his Commandments in order that I might not spot or stain the character which has become me.

    Today, I will strive to be a good citizen in the eyes of my neighbor, my community, the state and my country. I will revere my country’s banner, honor its Constitution and laws, be grated I for the freedoms I enjoy and bear in mind what the right to those freedoms has cost in lives throughout the ages.

    Today, I will remind myself that I am a Master Mason and that I have knelt at the alter and have taken an obligation upon myself and in the presence of those, my brethren, with my hands, my heart and my mind focused upon the Holy Bible, Square and Compass and to live and act in accordance with their moral and symbolic teachings.

    Today, I will extend my hand to a worthy brother in distress, and to all persons knowing them to be one of God’s children who is in need or suffering, and will require of them only the reassurance that they would act and perform the same should they f nd another in like situation as they themselves are and requiring no more or less of them.

    Today, I will be more tolerant and cordial of those around me, and will abstain from being judgmental of those who are less fortunate than myself, but will encourage them to stand erect, to count their blessings and to make the best of the life for which God has so graciously given them.

    Today, I will speak only positively about my fellow man and will cast away all criticism, animosity and jealousy that may offend, humiliate or otherwise degrade another’s name, their heritage or their religion, keeping in mind that we are all made in the image of the Grand Architect of the Universe and through him we are all related.

    Today, I will do whatever is required of me to perpetuate the existence of Freemasonry by being mindful of those who have not found it in themselves to seek more “light” about our gentle craft, its beginnings, its tenets, and its teachings. To offer up information to those who demonstrate a genuine interest and, who in my mind, are worthy to receive that “light”.

    Today, I will spend quality time with my family and provide for their happiness and welfare so that together we may support one another physically, emotionally and spiritually.

    Today, I will pray to my God according to the dictates and customs of my chosen religion.

    Today, I will support Freemasonry by attending a Symbolic Lodge and will endeavor to be an active, enthusiastic, and supportive member of the worlds largest and oldest “Brotherhood of Man. “

  2. I think the guy might be stringing the reporter along, since early in the article he responds to the question “How do you think they found out about you?” with this reply:

    “I don’t know. I’ve asked other members who were going through the process, but they did not know how they were chosen either. I thought they might have bought a list from one of the charities I give money to. The address on the letter had a zip-plus-four zip code, and the only way I’m thinking that they could have gotten this was from a service of some kind.”

    and followed with:

    “When I questioned him further, he said, and I quote: “It could be the kind of wines you like, it could be places you like to go, your taste, your station in life.” There are a whole bunch of things that are considered.”

    What GL in the US sends out mailings soliciting membership?

    And then there’s this doozy, in answer to the ever popular “Does the organization perform secret rituals?” he says:

    “Yes. They have secret rituals. There are even secret rituals that people do in public life. For instance, President Washington, who was a Mason, performed secret rituals on all the buildings he was involved with building. He had a late-night ritual to prepare the building for good luck and to increase its power.”

    Okay, maybe the first part refers to a cornerstone laying. But “late-night ritual to prepare the building for good luck”???!

    Personally, while there are some good things in the article, it sounds more like someone learned enough about Freemasonry from teh Internet to get a reporter interested, and then threw in some extra stuff from his imagination.

    He also states that he is only a Fellowcraft (“I have just made the second degree.”), but precedes that statement with an observation that there are 33 degrees.

    I htink it’s bogus.

Leave a Reply

 
