Wearing What I Preach…

This in no way applies to anyone else but me.

As many of you are aware, I have added an apparel line to both of my sites at Masonic Traveler. The purpose was multi-faceted and successful in every way intended.

My primary reason for making it was to create some cool looking Masonic swag. More than just a T-Shirt with a square and compass on it, I wanted something with more of a tooth. I think they came out cool, and I hope you do too.

My secondary reason to make the shirts and store was to use them.

A short time back, I bought several shirts for myself. The first one I received came a few days before the 4th of July. Deciding that day to wear the shirt, I wanted to make a statement that was every bit tied to the occasion as the emblems on the shirt.

Unfortunately, that day, when a visitor arrived at my home, I found I had a flat tire (which turned out to be two flats). Still being early, I made the trip to the local tire shop to get it fixed. It was there that I found the reward for wearing my emblem on my sleeve (or chest as it was).

It didn’t take long in the lobby for me to notice a man looking at the shirt. After several minutes of waiting to be helped, the man finally asked me “if I was a mason”. Several minutes later, he told me that he too was a mason, and from my very lodge. He hadn’t been to lodge in a while, but he was glad to find a brother, and perhaps encouraged to come back.

The shirt facilitated the contact in an otherwise benign environment that would of never of offered an opportunity to meet.

Later that evening, I wore the shirt to an event of several thousand people, all assembled to celebrate the freedom of our country. Still wearing the shirt, it was a billboard for my fraternity, to remind people that Freemasons still exist and are just as relevant today as they were 100 years ago. I didn’t get any comments or meet any brothers, but I did get a lot of looks.

Is a shirt the best way to get a message across? I think that in a Bumper Sticker/T-Shirt society it is more effectual than a ring, pin, or token these days, and I think it depends on the occasion. Now, I wear it whenever I have a chance to.

If you haven’t already seen them, check them out: Masonic Traveler Apparel.

| | | |

~ by Greg on August 20, 2006.

2 Responses to “Wearing What I Preach…”

  1. Hi Masonic Traveler. I stumbled into your blog after searching the web for info on the possible Masonic connection on Vanished. I appreciate you blog and find it very interesting. My dad is a Mason, and I have always been intrigued by Freemasonry. It is nice to see a younger man participating in it as I have never actually met anyone in real life anywhere close to my age that is a Mason. Have a good day! K

  2. Hi Masonic Traveler. I stumbled into your blog after searching the web for info on the possible Masonic connection on Vanished. I appreciate you blog and find it very interesting. My dad is a Mason, and I have always been intrigued by Freemasonry. It is nice to see a younger man participating in it as I have never actually met anyone in real life anywhere close to my age that is a Mason. Have a good day! K

Leave a Reply

 
