Summer Reading

I just got home from a fabulous week on the shores of one of the oldest lakes in North America. Besides some swimming, boating and fishing (of which my son caught his first), I managed to get some reading done.

The first book I read, I’ll save for another post, but the 2nd book I managed to put eyes on was “Duncan’s Ritual of Freemasonry”.

Fairly dry and something all Mason’s profess to already know, it was a GREAT re-introduction and reminder of what Freemasonry is.

Freemasonry is not (ritually speaking) a supper club, fish fry, or bully pulpit. Nor is it a lecture, a book, a website or a blog.

It is instead a fraternity of like minded men, dedicated to some invisible thing inherent in all of us. Our “brotherhood” is that journey from west to east looking for that which was lost.

Re-reading the degrees (as written in the mid 1800’s), makes me think on one hand that it is a rigid system of thought laced with absolutes and dogma, but on the other hand I am reminded of the the principals of exploration and investigation, as illuminated in the 15 steps of a Fellow Craft.

Perhaps, I could even be so bold as to say that none of us are the Masters we were raised to be, as we still travel in search of that which was lost, so that

“…in old age, as Master Masons, we may enjoy the happy reflections consequent on a well-spent life, and die in the hope of a glorious immortality. (p.74)

This text, with as many differences it may have to your locality, is a great refresher to the three degrees and a reminder of what Freemasonry is inherently about. Freemasonry isn’t about what we say it is, but is what the ritual tells us it is. Otherwise, why bother to call it Freemasonry?

I definitely recommend adding “Duncan’s Ritual of Freemasonry” to your library, even just as a reference manual. consider it an aid to the memory. It is a great book.

| | | | | |

~ by Greg on August 20, 2006.

3 Responses to “Summer Reading”

  1. I’ve looked it over and always wondered why my states ritual differ so much?
    I wish we did more with the candidate between first and second section of the MM degree

  2. Great blog and great web site. I have been exploring Freemasonry for about a year and I have benefitted tremendously from the plethora of information on the internet. I’ve been in touch with the Worshipful Master of the local lodge, but I have been taking some time to do research before committing. Thanks for providing all of the resources. I’m also glad to find another Tool fan that is a believing person.

  3. An excellent BLOG. I am keeping a blog about Freemasonry in Iraq. You may wish to visit/publicize.

    cemab4y.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

 
