Things of late on the Travels…

I wanted to drop a quick post here to say that things are still afloat here, but busy, busy, busy.

I have been working on several projects in harmony with this Blog and with its parent site Freemason Information. It just seems like there is so little time in the day to get everything accomplished.

For a flavor of what has been happening, I am presently working on updates to the traditional tracing boards. The first I posted here a few weeks ago, and the next in development. I think in many ways I took them for granted as being flat 2 dimensional representations of pillars and tools, but in researching them, their profundity astounds me. I think their meaning is many and diverse, but at the same time, their simplicity is dramatic. In the coming weeks I plan on unveiling the 2nd tracing board, as soon as I can get myself to start moving pixels.

The next task I have been endeavoring in is to start a line of Masonic Apparel. Not like FUBU or Ralph Lauren, but something more stylish and contemporary than a square and compass. Many will disagree with this and say that it is irreverent, but the purpose is bring the fraternity out of the obfuscated past and celebrate it’s existence and our membership in it. Please, I invite you to check it out and let me know what you think, it lives here for now at Masonic Traveler.

And then lastly, I am starting to dig deeper and deeper into the past of Freemasonry. I have started reading Hermetica in an attempt to fathom the breadth of where the ideas of Freemasonry originated. Not sure what I will find, but from some of my cursory work, I can see some parallel and connections. It’s lead me to the question “is Freemasonry magically esoteric or is the magic it’s understanding of divinity and God?” It’s still Esoteric, but with a new meaning to me.

Well, I’ve bored you with the details. I’m glad to see that many of you out there are still plugging away. I’ll be posting more soon, just trying to tend to the sticks in the fire.

| | | | | |

~ by Greg on June 1, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
